Preparation

Update 07/06

Today I have been looking over the details of the projects I will be working on.

Projects abroad have published a really detailed description of the work which is in progress in the Ghandruk area of the Annapurna Conservation Area:

https://www.tagos.co.uk/filemanager_view.php?file=gNIMakfSGWhj7cMPV34Rm84fjOvfmauldvb67k%2B25ruv6m%2BMvVBlUBQdYsL0dwhmTUhivDfVpw1T2BQo4ldtmg%3D%3D

There are some wild looking animals in the area, and some really big ones! Here are a few images provided by google:

  

(Large Indian Civet, Clouded Leopard, Himalayan Black Bear)

I looked out some old children’s books from around the house to take to the school I will be volunteering at – so much nostalgia!

It is recommended that we prepare some activities for the children at the school but I’m struggling a bit for ideas. I think it might be nice to do some music stuff but I’m not really sure what the English level is like, and how much time there will be for activities like this…

I was thinking of taking some tin whistles or other small instruments over but I feel like the teachers at the school would hate me for the incessant noise this would cause!

There are a few more last minute items I need to buy before I leave. I just ordered a Sawyer Mini Water Filtration System, which filters out 99.99999% of bacteria and 99.9999% of protozoa (for only £25!). We will be provided with filtered or bottled water on the trip, so this is just for emergencies, but it can filter up to 100 000 gallons of water before it needs to be replaced so I can make good use of it in the future too.

 

 

Leave a Reply

