Uncategorized

Two and a half weeks to go!

I don’t know how to blog but I decided that it is the best way for me to update friends and family on what I’m up to while I’m in Nepal!
I’m am travelling through Projects Abroad, who have been really helpful with sorting out travel and volunteering arrangements.

I will start off in Kathmandu, the capital, where I will be in an English boarding school working/playing/helping with children up to 9 years old.

After this, I will travel by bus to Pokhara, the ‘trekkers capital’, with routes starting here to Annapurna and beyond. I will stay here for one night before getting up early the next morning and embarking on the journey into the Annapurna Conservation Area. This involves a jeep ride to the park gates, followed by an 8km ascent to the village of Ghandruk, at an altitude of 2000m, where I will be based for volunteering with the Annapurna Conservation Area Project for 2 weeks. The work here will involve surveying various animals and plants, including large mammals and primates and rhodedendron (which will be interesting to see in it’s native habitat, a different context to rhody-bashing, when we were taken to local areas as children to chop them down and burn them) so that the project can monitor the effects of climate change on the conservation area, and contribute to sustainable development in the area through educating locals etc, on the importance of the habitat.

Thank you to everyone who has helped me by donating to my fundraising page!

Leave a Reply

